Angelia Hursell: The Night Before Nikki Died


Disclaimer: These posts are meant to be interactive. You can read and surf away if you want. Or you can participate. Read carefully about what is said or is claimed to be known. And then weigh in. Your words could have the power to solve these mysteries that continue to torment the families and friends of the victims. Feel free to pass this blog along.

In reading the police reports and even some of the private investigator notes there were references to Angelia Hursell. Angelia babysat for Nikki LaDue January and was a friend of hers. She babysat Nikki’s son Zack Saturday, July 28 and saw Nikki just a few hours before her death.  A couple of things to point out right off the bat. The police report said Angelia said Nikki appeared “energetic” when she picked up Zack. That word…energetic was later used by police investigators and the coroner to imply she was on something. In fact, Angelia said Nikki was “apologetic” because she was a little late picking Zack up. One other thing and it’s a big one. What time did Nikki actually leave Angelia’s after picking up Zack? Angelia had said it was about 11:20-11:30 p.m. That raised eyebrows because phone records from Nikki and her husband Phil’s condo indicated someone was using the phone shortly after 11 p.m. Could there have been someone in the condo? Well, we can’t rule that out entirely however when I asked Angelia about the time again, she corrected it. She said Nikki and Zack left shortly before 11 p.m. and could have conceivably been home in time to use the condo phone at 11:07 p.m. It takes about 10 minutes to get there from Angelia’s.

But let’s back up now and hear everything that happened that day from Angelia’s perspective.

Nikki and Zack

“I worked with Nikki at the Grand and I knew she was moving and needed to pack so I offered my services. I asked if she needed my help with anything or needed me to watch Zack and she took me up on it. On Saturday, July 27, she said she had some moving to do the next day and I told her I would watch Zack. She dropped him off the morning of Sunday July 28. I had made plans to take my kids to Picayune, Mississippi about an hour drive from here for a relative’s birthday party. So I told Nikki I would take Zack with us to the party and that I wouldn’t be home until that evening but she could pick him up whenever she was ready.”

Nikki dropped Zack off around noon. Angelia said everything was normal. “She kissed him good-bye, talked to him for a few minutes to make sure he was comfortable, told him he was going to have fun at a birthday party. He was fine. He said ‘Ok mom, bye!’

And when Nikki came to pick him up, anything unusual? “She came to pick him up at 11 p.m. (later corrected to 10:30 p.m.). She was apologetic for being late. It didn’t bother me because I was a night person so being up at the time of night was not a problem. It seemed like she was in a hurry but I took it as she felt she was inconveniencing me because she was late. She actually stayed and talked to me for a good 20 minutes about what Zack did that day. He showed her prizes he won at the party. She didn’t talk about what she did and I didn’t ask her. We just talked about Zack. I noticed that when she did leave, she had pillows in her car like from packing.”

“I knew she was moving to Louisiana and I knew Phil was coming back for the move, but I was under the impression he wasn’t coming until the following night.”

Nikki drove off with Zack for home. Everything appeared to be normal.

Coming up…The horrific day of July 29. What happened to Nikki?

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Cold Cases, Crime, Murder, Nikki LaDue January and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

